Challenge Accepted

Life isn’t easy.
I think that’s a truth we all understand and experience in our lives.
We all face our own battles, obstacles, and just plain bad days every once in a while. Some of us are constantly experiencing adversity while some of us may have some time to breathe in between life’s opposition.

Sure, our trials don’t look the same. Some of us have more privilege than others, but I certainly believe that life has tested each and every one of us.

However…. I believe it’s not about what you’ve gone through, but your response to what you’ve gone through that matters.

I’d say I’m an optimist by nature. I’m the person who tends to view the metaphorical glass “half full.” I’m the person who usually wakes up on the right side of the bed.

It hasn’t been easy to remain this positive for nearly twenty years, but I’ve met some inspiring people along the way whose wisdom I’ve adopted in own my life. Here’s some of the things they’ve taught me:

  • “It’s only considered failure if you give up. If you eventually accomplish the goal, then you’ve still succeeded.”
  • “It’s not about waiting for something to happen. It’s about your attitude while waiting.”
  • “Sometimes we ask God to give us more of certain qualities like patience/faith/trust, but sometimes instead of just getting those things, God chooses to give us circumstances that teach us to have those things.”
  • “Progress is not linear”
  • “Since change scares you, try not to focus on the idea that things are changing. Instead, just embrace the slow transition of life.”

A few months ago, I saw a tweet Chance the Rapper re-tweeted from his manager, Patrick Corcoran, that perfectly sums up my thoughts on challenges:

IMG_7995

I think the most important thing I’ve learned is to embrace authenticity and vulnerability. You don’t have all the answers. It’s okay none of us do, so we should just present ourselves as the raw, works in progress that we are. It makes facing life so much easier and I guarantee you’ll learn a lot more from the people around you.

You can better love yourself and others by choosing joy in the face of adversity. I love the quote that says “Just when you think you’ve been buried, you’ve been planted.” Use this planting time to learn and grow because great things are on the way 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

